ASE Home Page Products Download Purchase Support About ASE
ChartDirector General
Forum HomeForum Home   SearchSearch

Message ListMessage List     Post MessagePost Message

Highlighting a line in a chart
Posted by Dave on May-18-2020 05:14
Hello All!

I am new to the library and I am trying to implement a chart containing several lines where I want to hover or double-click on a line and highlight the whole line, display it's value at the point selected and highlight the value on the x axis, and, display the values at intersection of the line with Y axis.

Any examples doing that? Any ideas??

Many thanks!

Dave

Re: Highlighting a line in a chart
Posted by Peter Kwan on May-18-2020 21:47
Hi Dave,

I can provide an example to you, but I would need more information on your requirements.

Would you mind to clarify which programming language and GUI framework or web framework you are using? (Eg. C++ MFC, C# Windows Forms, VB ASP.NET, etc).

What type of line are you plotting? Is it a regular line chart, like the lines in a MultiLine Chart:

https://www.advsofteng.com/doc/cdnet.htm#multiline2.htm

Or it is a trend line in which ChartDirector may extend it until it reaches the border of the plotarea:

https://www.advsofteng.com/doc/cdnet.htm#scattertrend.htm

There are several examples in ChartDirector that displays the data point at the mouse position

https://www.advsofteng.com/doc/cdnet.htm#tracklabel.htm
https://www.advsofteng.com/doc/cdnet.htm#trackaxis.htm

In the examples that come with ChartDirector, it displays the "data points". A line chart is obtained by joining the data points. When you click on a line, you may not be clicking on a data point, but somewhere between two data points. In the examples in ChartDirector, we will simply snap to the nearest data point.

If you can provide more details, I can modify one of the examples to better fit your requirements.

Regards
Peter Kwan

Posted by Dave on May-22-2020 22:32